Who Is The Captain Of The Bangladesh Cricket Team?

On June 26, 2000, Bangladesh Cricket Team was admitted as a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC). Later that year, the Bangladesh Cricket Team also played their first Test match against India. Before that, it took part in six ICC trophies as an associate member of the ICC, the premier One Day International (ODI) tournament for non-Test playing teams.

Since its promotion, the Bangladesh Cricket Team has had some success in ODI and Twenty20 International (T20I). They have also had some great Bangladesh captain who has led the team to various firsts.

In international women’s cricket competitions, Bangladesh has its own women’s national cricket team. Before competing in and winning the 2007 ACC Women’s Tournament, they played and defeated Thailand in two matches in July 2007, making their international debut. 

Following its fifth-place finish in the qualification, Bangladesh women’s team received One-Day International (ODI) eligibility in 2011.

Bangladesh Cricket Team current captains

A different set of Bangladeshi players lead the Bangladesh Cricket Team in all three formats. Below is a breakup of different Bangladesh captain for different formats.

1. Test & T20I Cricket: Shakib al Hasan

Bangladeshi all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan serves as the team’s captain in both Test and T20 International matches. In the current ODI cricket rankings, he is the top all-arounder. He is highly popular as one of the best all-around players of all time.

When regular captain Mashrafe Mortaza had to leave the game on the first day owing to an injury in the first test match against the West Indies in 2009. Shakib served as the acting captain. The test match was then won by Bangladesh, marking their first away test victory.

He led the team to victory in the second test as well. Giving them their first away test series victory. He also captained the group for that match. His all-around effort earned him the title of Player of the Series.

He led Bangladesh in their 2-0 victory over the West Indies in 2018–19, the second test series victory against the Caribbean nation. Because of his all-around skills, he was the Player of the Series. Only these three tests, out of a total of 14, were won by Bangladesh during his time as test captain.

Between 2009 and 2015, he captained Bangladesh in 50 ODI games, winning 23 of them. He also served as Bangladesh’s captain at the 2011 Cricket World Cup. He led his team in one game during the 2015 World Cup.

Under his captaincy, Bangladesh also took part in 17 T20I games, winning only 4 of them.

2. Men’s ODI Cricket

According to the Bangladesh Cricket Board’s official news. The regular captain Tamim Iqbal did not play in the ODI series against India. It is because of a groin injury that Tamim had during the warm-up game. In addition, BCB stated that he still has doubts about the Test series that is a part of ICC WTC 23.

Dependable middle-order batsman Litton Das was then named as the new captain of the Bangladesh Men’s ODI team captain. One of the team’s more senior players, Litton Das has proven to be a capable leader. As per Mr Jalal Yunus, the BCB cricket operation chairman, “He has a sharp cricketing mind and reads the game well.”

But he has been a member of the team for a while. When Shakib Al Hasan took over, he was the vice-captain of the Test. Jalal Yunus, the chairman of the BCB Cricket Operation, praised Litton Das’ skills and he was disappointed that Tamim Iqbal was unable to take part.

Bangladesh went on to win that ODI series against India 2-1. Litton Das, in particular, has seen immense praise for his captaincy skills under pressure situations. However, it would be nice to see who will take over as the Bangladesh captain in the next ODI series and the Cricket World Cup 2023 in India.

3. Bangladesh Women’s Team captain

The Bangladesh women’s ODI and T20I teams are led by Bangladeshi cricketer Nigar Sultana. Sultana is a right-hand middle-order batsman who plays as a wicketkeeper. She was a part of the Bangladesh cricket team in January 2020 in preparation for the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia. With 114 runs in four matches, she led Bangladesh in run scoring during the competition.

She was the Bangladesh captain for women’s ODI & T20Is in the 2021 Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier match in Zimbabwe in November 2021. She led Bangladesh in the cricket qualifier match for the 2022 CWG games in Malaysia in January 2022. Later that month, she led Bangladesh at the New Zealand Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *