Which National Team Has Won The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Title Twice?

Countries with the most T20 World Cup wins: Which National team has won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Title Twice?

It was in 2007 that the Indian cricket team accomplished the crown of defending champions in the inaugural edition of the ICC men’s T20 World Cup. Since then, India has never won the shortest format of the World Cup. Ahead of the 9th edition of the grand tournament, it would be interesting to know the countries that won T20 World Cup twice or more.

Over these years, only two national teams have successfully won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title twice.

Emerging cricket fans might think Australia might have won the most number of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, based on their 6-time ODI World Cup wins. In reality, Australia has won the T20 World Cup once in 2021. Indeed, it was the first time they qualified for the T20 World Cup finals and defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets to claim their maiden T20 World Cup title.

Are you curious to know which are the two countries with the most T20 World Cup wins that won against the hosting nations? How could these countries defeat the hosts to advance through the finals? Were cricketers from the winning teams able to achieve the “Player of the Tournament” award? Which is the first national cricket team to win the ICC T20 World Cup twice? When did these countries accomplish the T20 World Cup titles twice?

The answers to these above questions will be revealed in an interesting and detailed way…

Countries with the most T20 World Cup wins: The success story you need to know!

England and West Indies are the two countries with the most T20 World Cup wins. Also, You need to know their success story in the finals against the toughest opposition teams: 

1. ENGLAND ( 2010 and 2022):

England is one of those top cricketing countries with the most T20 World Cup wins. Their success story of becoming the defending champions in the shortest format is truly fascinating.

Interestingly, England was the first non-Asian team to clinch the T20 World Cup trophy.

●      2010 Finals: Australia vs England ( VENUE: Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados- West Indies)

England bowlers restricted Australia to an average score of 147-6 in 20 overs.  Australian batsman David Hussey’s steady knock of 59 runs from 54 balls ( including 2 fours and 2 sixes) saved his team from facing an embarrassment of low total.

Despite, the early fall of England’s opening batsman Michael Lumb( 2 runs from 4 balls), the 111-run partnership between Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen became the turning point of the match.

England successfully chased the target by scoring 148-3 in 17 overs riding on the innings of Craig Kieswetter (63 runs) and Kevin Pietersen (47 runs).

England Batsman Kevin Pietersen was awarded the “Player of the Tournament” award. He was the leading run-scorer for his team. By accumulating 248 runs in 6 matches, Kevin Pietersen also became the 2nd highest run-scorer of the tournament.

●      2022 Finals: Pakistan vs England ( VENUE: MCG- Australia)

After securing a massive 10-wicket win against India in the semi-finals, England needed another win in the finals against Pakistan to join West Indies in the list of countries with the most T20 World Cup wins.

Pakistan batting first was able to post a low total of 137-8 in 20 overs. Shan Masood ( 38 runs) and Babar Azam (32 runs)were the only top scorers of their side.

England’s all-rounder Ben Stokes safely guided his team in a crucial run chase. His unbeaten and steady knock of 52 runs from 49 balls ( including 5 fours and 1 six) helped England accomplish the target of 138 runs in 19 overs. Moreover, England achieved a significant achievement in the T20 World Cup with a 5-wicket win.

Sam Curran, England’s bowling all-rounder achieved the “Player of the Match” and “Player of the series” awards.

Which Batsman Has The Most Centuries In T20 World Cup History?

2. WEST INDIES ( 2012 and 2016):

West Indies was the first team to win the ICC T20 World Cup twice following the years 2012 and 2016. Notably, West Indies is the only team to defeat the host nation in the final of the T20 World Cup.

●      2012 Finals: West Indies vs Sri Lanka (VENUE: R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo, Sri Lanka)

Sri Lankan off-spin bowler Ajantha Mendis’s 4-wicket haul restricted West Indies to a total of 137-6 in 20 overs. The situation for the West Indies could have become worse without Marlon Samuels’ crucial knock of 78 runs from 56 balls ( 3 fours and 6 sixes).

However, these West Indies bowlers restricted Sri Lanka to a total of 101-10 in 18.4 overs:

  • Sunil Narine: 9-3 in 3.4 overs
  • Daren Sammy: 6-2 in 2 overs
  • Marlon Samuels: 15-1 in 4 overs
  • Ravi Rampaul: 31-1 in 3 overs
  • Samuel Badree: 24-1 in 4 overs

Though West Indies won the T20 World Cup, Shane Watson grabbed the “Player of the Series Award”. He was the highest run-scorer scoring 249 runs in 6 matches of the tournament.

●      2016 Finals: West Indies vs England  (VENUE: Eden Gardens, Kolkata, India)

Team India as hosts couldn’t qualify for the finals following the 7-wicket defeat against the West Indies in the semi-finals.

In the T20 World Cup finals 2016, England posted a total of 155-9 in 20 overs riding on Joe Root’s 54 runs from 36 balls( including 7 fours).

On the other side, West Indies with a strong batting line-up chased the target by scoring 161-6 in 19.4 overs. Marlon Samuels’ heroic knock of 85 runs from 66 balls ( including 9 fours and 2 sixes), steered his team to a thrilling 4-wicket victory.

West Indies compared to other countries with the most T20 World Cup wins at that time emerged as the first nation to achieve this exceptional record.

Though West Indies won the T20 World Cup, Indian star batsman Virat Kohli claimed the “Player of the series” award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *