Which BPL Team Is Favourite To Win BPL 2024 Trophy?

Which BPL team is the favorite to win the BPL 2024 trophy? An intense battle in the 10th edition

The BPL 2024 commenced on 19th January 2024 with Durdanto Dhaka and Chattogram Challengers winning their first match of the tournament. All seven different teams strive to win the BPL 2024 trophy competing against each other in a double round-robin format.

Mainly, the four-time defending champions Comilla Victorians are aiming to make a hat trick after winning the trophy in 2022 and 2023.

Sylhet Strikers- the previous year’s finalist are among the strong contenders like Rangpur Riders and Fortune Barishal that qualified for the playoffs as well.

Especially, the strengthened squads of Chattogram Challengers, Khulna Tigers, and Fortune Barishal have higher chances of winning the BPL 2024 trophy. Thereby, these teams pose a threat to the Comilla Victorians’ target of accomplishing their hat trick title.

Also, the defending champions aim to strongly bounce back after losing the initial match of BPL 2024 against Durdanto Dhaka by 5 wickets.

Additionally, it would be interesting to explore the chances for every team to win the BPL 2024 trophy in detail…

7 teams and their chances to win the BPL 2024 Trophy

These are the seven teams that compete with each other to clinch the BPL 2024 trophy:

1.Comilla Victorians:

Comilla Victorians have retained their core overseas cricketers namely:

  • Andre Russell
  • Moeen Ali
  • and Sunil Narine

These key players were part of the previous two title runs in 2022 and 2023.

To strengthen the middle order, the franchise included Iftikhar Ahmed from Fortune Barishal and Towhid Hridoy from Sylhet Strikers.

Moreover, the Comilla Victorians are the most successful team in the Bangladesh Premier League.

Interestingly, Litton Das, and Mohammad Rizwan as the top-order gems for their team who can share the wicket-keeping duties.

Furthermore, Mustafizur Rahman along with overseas bowlers like Zaman Khan and Naseem Shah powers the bowling unit. Also, these core bowlers enhance the team’s chances to lift the BPL 2024 trophy.

2. Chattogram Challengers:

After having a disappointing season in the previous year, Chattogram Challengers began their BPL 2024 campaign on a winning note against Sylhet Strikers.

Out of the 5 playoffs, the franchise managed to conclude as the runner-up in 2013.

Chattogram has won only 49 games in the 112 BPL matches. Moreover, the team concluded at the bottom position in the BPL 2023 points table.

As the squad is strengthened when compared to the previous edition, the winning chances are further enhanced. The team is yet to win its maiden title by clinching the BPL 2024 trophy.

3. Durdanto Dhaka:

It was a rough season for Durdanto Dhaka in the previous edition of BPL. Also, the team had to conclude the season by ranking at the sixth position in the points table.

Additionally, star bowlers like Taskin Ahmed and Shoriful Islam are part of the team. These players were the key performers for their side in the 2023 ODI World Cup.

Ultimately, the franchise retained all-rounder cum skipper Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, along with leg-spinner Usman Qadir and left-arm spinner Arafat Sunny in the ongoing season.

After winning the opening match against the defending champions Comilla Victorians, the team is confident to lift the BPL 2024 trophy.

4. Rangpur Riders:

The Rangpur Riders were the defending champions in 2017 and qualified for the playoffs four times.

Shakib Al Hasan who represented Fortune Barishal in the last two seasons, will now be a part of the Riders squad.

The franchise included Babr Azam, who needs no special introduction as the best T20 batter. His match-winning knocks can provide a new dimension to the batting unit.

Additionally, Matheesha Pathirana, Ihsanullah, and Abu Hider Rony along with Afghanistan’s all-rounder Azmatullah Omarzai can add value to the bowling lineup.

As a result, the Rangpur Riders with its strong batting and bowling unit have maximum chances to win the BPL 2024 trophy.

5. Sylhet Strikers:

Unlike the batting performance, the Sylhet Strikers need to focus on their bowling unit, which was the major cause of losing their opening match against Chattogram Challengers.

After delivering a commendable performance in the previous season, the franchise concluded as the runner-up.

By correcting certain errors, the team can once again deliver a dominating performance to lift the BPL 2024 trophy with these quality players namely:

  • Najmul Hossain Shanto
  • Ben Cutting
  • Mohammad Mithun
  • Shafiqul Islam
  • Mashrafe Mortaza

6. Khulna Tigers:

The last-minute inclusion of Mohammad Nawaz and Arif Ahmed yields the best results for the Khulna Tigers to win the BPL 2024 trophy. Nawaz and Ahmed integrate their experience and raw talent to give their exceptional performance.

The Tigers managed to win only 3 out of 12 games in the previous season. As a result, the franchise released 16 players including its skipper Tamim Iqbal to strengthen the squad. At the same time, the most promising players like Shai Hope and Dasun Shanaka were retained.

Moreover, Anamul Haque Bijoy was appointed as the new skipper to sharpen the Tigers’ claws.

Bijoy represented Fortune Barishal in the earlier edition. He scored 280 runs in 12 matches of BPL 2023 with an average of 23.33 and a strike rate of more than 125.

Mainly, it remains to be seen if Khulna Tigers under Bijoy’s leadership can create charm to win the BPL 2024 trophy.

7. Fortune Barishal:

The veteran batsman Tamim Iqbal is completely set as a captain of Fortune Barishal. Also. the team features the best all-rounders which includes the domestic and overseas players namely:

  • Paul Stirling: Ireland
  • Shoaib Malik: Pakistan
  • Mahmudullah: Bangladesh
  • Dunith Wellalage: Sri Lanka
  • Mohammad Saifuddin: Bangladesh
  • Mehidy Hasan Miraz: Bangladesh

After concluding as the runner-up in 2012, 2015, and 2022, the Fortune Barishal managed to qualify for the playoffs in 2023.

Finally, the team has a huge challenge not only to enter the finals but also to win the BPL 2024 trophy to accomplish their maiden winning title.

Ultimately, the strengthened squad promises to break the jinx of choking at the finals and aims to create a sensation in the BPL 2024 tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Rated Casinos
1.2% Daily Slot Rebate
VIP Point Exchange
500 Free Cash + 5 Free Spins
Sign up and get ৳500 free Credit
2.5% USDT Deposit Bonus