What You Need To Know About PSL 2023?

There is now a draft underway for the eighth season of the Pakistan Super League ( PSL 2023 ). It is expected. However, a draft will take place on November 18th.

History of PSL

It consists of six teams representing six cities in Pakistan. That is playing a professional Twenty20 cricket league in February and March. An investor owns and controls each franchise, not an association of independently owned teams.

As the teams play double-round-robin matches in the group stages. The top four with the most points advance to the playoffs. Lahore is the headquarters of the Pakistan Cricket Board.

Seven seasons were totally complete in the PSL. PSL’s most successful team is Islamabad United, which has won two titles. Lahore Qalandars won the 2022 season. And they are the current champions.


In September 2015, the PSL was officially launched by the Pakistan Cricket Board. Even, Wasim Akram and Rameez Raja, former Pakistani national team captains. They have also entered into a three-year agreement to promote the PSL. And, become its brand ambassadors. However, the league was officially inaugurate on 4 February 2016 in the United Arab Emirates. But, after several years of planning and two previous unsuccessful attempts. Moreover, Bakhtawar Bhutto-Zardari, the daughter of former Pakistani President Asif Zardari. Although, he also joins Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan at the opening ceremony.

Also, a total of five teams were form base on the capital cities of Pakistan’s provinces. And, the federal capital in the first two seasons. So, a higher percentage of international players played in the PSL’s first season. Even, players are recruiting using a draft system. Even, it is similar to the system using by many North American pro sports leagues. However, as opposed to auctions as in other T20 leagues.

In a ceremony in Lahore on 20 September 2015, 3Di unveiled the PSL’s official logo. Moreover, Cricketers and Pakistani celebrities attended the ceremony.


The PSL is played in a double round-robin format. Every team plays each other twice and the top four advance to the Playoffs.

The PSL league follows the rules and regulations dictated by the International Cricket Council. Although, it introduced the DRS system in the T20s. However, it was later emulated by International Cricket Council as well. In the group stage, two points are awarded for a win. One for a no-result and none for a loss. Also, in the event of tied scores after both teams have faced their quota of overs. However, a super over will be in use to determine the match winner. In the group stage teams are ranked on the following criteria:

  • The higher number of points
  • If equal, better run rate
  • And, If equal, the highest number of wins
  • If equal, the fewest losses
  • If still equal, the results of the head-to-head meeting

In any play-off match in which there is no result, a super over is in use to determine the winner. If the super over is not possible. Or, the result of the over is a tie. Even, the team finishes in the highest league position at the end of the regular season. Although, it is deemed the winner of the match.

In what order will PSL teams pick their players?

There will be a first pick made by the defending champions, Lahore Qalandars. Even, a draw took place at the Pakistan Cricket Board office. Just to decide the order in which the teams should start playing.

However, the second and third picks will go to the Quetta Gladiators. And, Multan Sultans, also. Also, in addition to Karachi Kings, Islamabad United will have the fourth, and fifth picks also. So, a special tool is use to determine the order of the 17 rounds that would follow.

Which overseas players are available at a platinum price?

The name list of players that are available at a platinum price is:


Aaron Finch


Adil Rashid, Alex Hales, Dawid Malan, Moeen Ali, Reece Topley. And, Saqib Mahmood, Tom Curran, Tymal Mills, also.

West Indies:

Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Nicholas Pooran, Odean Smith, and, Rahkeem Cornwall.

Sri Lanka:

Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka, and, Wanindu Hasaranga.

New Zealand:

Colin de Grandhomme, Jimmy Neesham, and, Martin Guptill.


Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, and, Rashid Khan.

South Africa:

David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, and, Tabraiz Shamsi.


Shakib Al Hasan.

Which other overseas players have entered the draft?

However, as part of the player draft, 493 players have been selected. Also, 29 of them are platinum (above), and 81 are diamond (below). Although, players come from both full member nations as well as associate nations.

Even, English players are the only foreign players who allow registering as part of the foreign player pool (140). Moreover, there have been sixty people from Sri Lanka who have entered, and 43 people from Afghanistan. Even, 38 people are from the West Indies, 28 people are from Bangladesh, 25 people are from South Africa, and 14 people are from Australia. Although, 11 people are from Zimbabwe and nine people are from Ireland.

Who Are The Retained Players?

Islamabad United:

The name list of the retained players from Islamabad United. They are Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, and Azam Khan. And, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Colin Munro, and Paul Stirling.

Karachi Kings:

The name list of the retained players from Karachi Kings. They are Haider Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, and Shoaib Malik. And, Aamir Yamin, Mir Hamza, Sharjeel Khan, Qasim Akram.

Lahore Qalandars:

The name list of the retained players from Lahore Qalandars. They are Rashid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, David Wiese, Abdullah Shafique, Harry Brook, Kamran Ghulam, and Zaman Khan.

Multan Sultans:

The name list of the retained players from Multan Sultans. They are Mohammad Rizwan, Khushdil Shah, and Rilee Rossouw. Moreover, Shan Masood, Shahnawaz Dahani, Tim David, Abbas Afridi, and Ihsanullah.

Peshawar Zalmi:

The name list of the retained players from Peshawar Zalmi. They are Babar Azam, Sherfane Rutherford, Wahab Riaz, and Mohammad Haris. Even, Aamir Jamal, Salman Irshad, and Tom-Kohler Cadmore also.

Quetta Gladiators:

The name list of the retained players from Quetta Gladiators. They are Mohammad Nawaz, Iftikhar Ahmed, Jason Roy, Mohammad Hasnain, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Naveen ul Haq, Umar Akmal, and Will Smeed.

Pakistan Super League – PSL 2023

The Pakistan skipper has swapped Karachi Kings. However just for Peshawar Zalmi in the first major move of the Pakistan Super League 2023.

However, the trade involves Haider Ali and Shoaib Malik moving in opposite directions. Also, as well as Peshawar Zalmi received the first supplementary round pick.

Although, eight players from each team’s previous squad will retain. Also, upon the draft, even they can select 18 players for their 2023 squads. However, including three platinum, three diamonds, three golds, and five silvers. Moreover, two emerging and two supplementary also.

When does the tournament start?

The PSL 2023 season is set to start on February 9 across four venues. It will be the eighth season of PSL. A franchise T20 cricket league. That was inaugurated in 2015 by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

PSL 2023 will be the most amazing event in the history of PSL league cricket. As most of the eyes of cricket fans will be on PSL 2023. Pakistan ended the t20 world cup as runner-up while England emerges as the champions. And this is one of the reasons that. Cricket fans have set their eyes on PSL 2023 after the great performance in the t20 world cup.

All the PSL 2023 details. And the other information will update here as they become available. As soon as we have all the details, we will update the news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *