What Is The Highest Individual Score In IPL?

What is the highest individual score in IPL? Interesting Stats Revealed! 

Former West Indies batter Chris Gayle recorded the highest individual score of 175* in the IPL history. The Royal Challengers Bangalore’s (RCB) former opening batter scored it against Pune Warriors in 2013. Over these years, none of the batters have even managed to near Gayle’s record.

You would be curious to find out these top 10 batters with the highest individual scores in the Indian Premier League in detail…

1. Chris Gayle (RCB): 175* vs Pune Warriors India in IPL 2013

On 23rd April 2013, the Gayle storm arrived at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, as the Jamaican batsman achieved the highest individual score ever in the history of IPL.

Chris Gayle played an unbeaten destructive knock of 175* runs from just 66 balls (including 13 fours and 17 sixes) with a strike rate of 265.15. As a result, RCB posted a total of 263-5 in 20 overs, which was indeed the highest total in IPL history during that time until SRH surpassed the record by scoring 287 and 277 in the ongoing season of IPL 2024. 

The entire Pune Warriors team couldn’t even inch closer to Chris Gayle’s score and were restricted to 133-9 in 20 overs.

Here is a glimpse at how Chris Gayle reached his 175 runs:

  • 50 runs in 18 balls
  • 100 runs in 30 balls
  • 150 runs in 53 balls
  • 175 runs in 66 balls

It becomes clear that Gayle required 18 balls to reach his half-century and in the subsequent 12 balls, he achieved a century. However, he scored the next 50 runs in 23 balls and an additional 25 runs in 13 balls.

IPL Records: Most Sixes & Fours in IPL History

2. Brendon McCullum (KKR): 158* vs Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2008

The former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum played his career-best knock of 158* runs from 73 balls (including 10 fours and 13 sixes) against Royal Challengers Bangalore on 18th April 2008. His destructive knock by maintaining a strike rate of 216.43, propelled KKR to a total of 222-3 in 20 overs. However, RCB’s innings were wrapped up with a total of 82-10 in 15.1 overs.

3. Quinton de Kock ( LSG): 140* vs Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2022

The South African batter and wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock with a strike rate of 200.00 scored 140* runs from 70 balls (including 10 fours and 10 sixes) against Kolkata Knight Riders on 18th May 2022. His aggressive knock along with KL Rahul steered Lucknow Super Giants to post a total of 210-0 in 20 overs.

4. Ab de Villiers (RCB): 133* vs Mumbai Indians in IPL 2015

On 10th May 2015, Ab de Villiers once again proved that he is the Mr 360 batsman of all formats by smashing a score of 133* runs from 59 balls (including 19 fours and 1 six) against Mumbai Indians. With his impressive strike rate of 225.42, ABD along with Virat Kohli guided RCB to post a total of 235-1 in 20 overs.

5. KL Rahul (KXIP): 132* vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

As an opening batsman and skipper of the Kings XI Punjab, KL Rahul delivered his career-best performance in IPL by scoring 132* runs in 69 balls (including 14 fours and 7 sixes) against Royal Challengers Bangalore on 24th September 2020 in Dubai. Also, he maintained an impressive strike rate of 191.30. Shockingly, the entire RCB team collapsed to a total of 109-10 in 17 overs and couldn’t even reach KL Rahul’s score.

6. Ab de Villiers (RCB): 129* vs Gujarat Lions in IPL 2016

Once again Ab de Villiers scored a crucial century of 129 runs from 52 balls (including 10 fours and 12 sixes) against Gujarat Lions on 14th May 2016 by maintaining a strike rate of 248.07. Consequently, ABD along with Virat Kohli’s century pushed RCB to a massive total of 248-3 in 20 overs. However, the Gujarat Lions were bowled out for 104-10 in 18.4 overs and couldn’t even reach closer to ABD’s score.

7. Shubman Gill (GT): 129 vs Mumbai Indians in IPL 2023

Shubman Gill’s crucial knock of 129 runs from 60 balls (including 7 fours and 10 sixes) and a strike rate of 215.50 during the qualifier 2 match of IPL 2023 against Mumbai Indians safely guided Gujarat Titans (GT) to qualify into the finals. His 3rd IPL century on 26th May 2023 propelled GT to a huge total of 223-3 in 20 overs.

8. Chris Gayle (RCB): 128* vs Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2012

On 17th May 2012, Chris Gayle scored 128 runs from 62 balls (including 7 fours and 13 sixes) with a strike rate of 206.45 against Delhi Daredevils. He maintained a 204-run partnership with Virat Kohli that helped RCB post a total of 215-1 in 20 overs.

9. Rishabh Pant (DD): 128* vs Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2018

The Delhi Capitals skipper Rishabh Pant scored his maiden IPL century with a score of 128* runs from 63 balls (including 15 fours and 7 sixes) against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) on 10th May 2018. Despite maintaining an outstanding strike rate of 203.17, his career-best knock went in vain as SRH chased the target of 187 and achieved a 9-wicket win.

10. Murali Vijay (CSK): 127 vs Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2010

On 3rd April 2010, Chennai Super Kings posted a total of 246-5 in 20 overs riding on the heroic knocks of Murali Vijay’s 127 runs from 56 balls( including 8 fours and 11 sixes) and a strike rate of 226.78. Indeed, Murali Vijay holds the record of 10th highest individual score in the IPL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Rated Casinos
1.2% Daily Slot Rebate
VIP Point Exchange
500 Free Cash + 5 Free Spins
Sign up and get ৳500 free Credit
2.5% USDT Deposit Bonus