IPL 2024 Set To Begin on 22nd March And Finals on 26th May

IPL 2024 begins on 22nd March and Finals on 26th May: Schedule, Venue, and Team List

The IPL 2024 17th Season is expected to begin on 22nd March 2024. It starts exactly 5 days after the Women’s Premier League – WPL 2024 Conclusion. The Indian Premier League will continue till 26th May – exactly 5 days before the T20 World Cup 2024 will commence in the West Indies and the Caribbean. 9 Days Later, India’s 1st World Cup Match is scheduled on 5th June 2024.

The BCCI – Board of Control for Cricket in India discussed the schedule with its stakeholders that 2nd season of WPL will begin from 22nd February to 17th March. The two cities namely Delhi and Bengaluru will host the Indian Premier League 2024. However, the official announcement will be made in a few days.

As expected, the IPL 2024 schedule is complicatedly linked with the General Election timetable.  The BCCI privately discussed holding the tournament between 22nd March to 26th May. However, BCCI will feel confident about commencing the complete league in India after election dates are confirmed.

Hence, most cricket boards have guaranteed the BCCI that their players would be available till the final. The T20 World Cup is beginning on 1st June and if any player has early exits, it will not be ruled out. But at the present situation, the BCCI focuses on aligning the schedule with the general elections and commencing the league successfully in India.

On which date IPL 2024 will start?

The IPL 2024 tournament will begin from 23rd March 2024. Teams will play the tournament’s last match on 29th May 2024. The Indian Premier League 2024 Auction Date was held on 19th December 2023. The BCCI introduced 2 new teams in this tournament. Therefore, a total of 10 teams will take part in this tournament.

Will IPL 2024 have 12 teams?: IPL 2024 TEAM LIST

This year in 2024, a total of 10 teams will be participating in this tournament. Here is the exclusive IPL 2024 Team List that will be participating in this IPL Tournament in 2024.

MI – Mumbai IndiansHardik Pandya
KKR – Kolkata Knights RidersShreyas Iyer
CSK – Chennai Super KingsMahendra Singh Dhoni
PBKS – Punjab Kings Shikhar Dhawan
DC – Delhi CapitalsTBA  (Rishabh Pant or David Warner)
RR – Rajasthan RoyalsSanju Samson
SRH – Sunrisers HyderabadAiden Markram
LSG – Lucknow Super GiantsKL Rahul
RCB – Royal Challengers BangaloreFaf du Plessis
GT – Gujarat TitansShubman Gill

Where is IPL 2024 held?

The BCCI is very confident about organizing the 17th edition of the Indian Premier League on Indian soil, amidst the unpredictable election schedule. However, the proposed schedule has to be approved. The schedule is proposed from 22nd March to 26th May. Therefore, after the approval, the Indian team will be provided with just a 5-day timeline to gather and get ready for the T20 World Cup in the US and the Caribbean.

Is the IPL 2024 Venue confirmed? Revealing the Unknown Facts for all cricket fans

As of now, the IPL 2024 venue has not yet been released. However, the officials will soon release the venue details along with the timetable, schedule, and other important details regarding the Indian Premier League 2024 League. Here are the familiar stadium venues where previous IPL matches were organized and these include:

  • Delhi – Arun Jaitley Stadium
  • Mohali – I.S. Bindra Punjab Cricket Association Stadium
  • Mumbai – Wankhede Stadium
  • Lucknow – Ekana International Cricket Stadium
  • Hyderabad – Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium
  • Bangalore – M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
  • Chennai – M.A. ChidambaramChepauk Stadium
  • Dharamsala – Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium
  • Kolkata – Eden Garden
  • Guwahati – Barsapara Cricket Stadium
  • Ahmedabad – Narendra Modi Stadium

IPL 2024 Schedule Released by BCCI

Event NameIPL 2024
Starting Date22nd March 2024
Ending Date26th May 2024
Total number of matches74
Hosting CountryIndia
Grand Finale held in Narendra Modi stadium
Total number of Teams participating10 Teams
TimetableTo Be Declared
OrganizersBCCI & IPL Council


TATA Sponsors the IPL 2024. BCCI & IPL Governing Council organizes the IPL league. Also, the timetable and other important details will officially be announced soon. However, the Loksabha polls shouldn’t interfere with the IPL, and the BCCI is striving to work on the schedules. As a result, the BCCI has discussed privately to make sure the entire league is commenced in India.

Also, If BCCI has to be confident, then the Election timetable has to be confirmed. As of now, the committee only focuses on aligning their dates with the election without any hindrance.

Hence, let us wait and look forward to what they are up to. Hopefully, we can get to witness the IPL season on the discussed date.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *