IPL 2024: 2 Teams That Are Favourites To Win The Trophy

2 Teams to win the IPL 2024 Trophy: The Favourites to Win the title this season

The Indian Premier League IPL is ready to return in its 17th edition which starts in March and concludes in the last week of May 2024. Many cricket fans have a crucial discussion about the teams to win the IPL 2024 trophy.

In the previous season, Chennai Super Kings beat Gujarat Titans at  Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, to lift its 5th IPL trophy. It was a record-equaling title for the franchise under MS Dhoni’s leadership.

Also, seven different franchises have clinched the IPL trophy in the past 16 years such as:

  • Mumbai Indians (MI)- 5
  • Chennai Super Kings (CSK)- 5
  • Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)- 2
  • Rajasthan Royals (RR)- 1
  • Deccan Chargers (DC)- 1
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)- 1
  • Gujarat Titans (GT)- 1

However, in the latest IPL 2024 auction, all the franchises contributed their best efforts to build a strong squad by selecting quality players.

Ahead of the auction, a few franchises have traded the best performing overseas and Indian cricketers by strengthening their squad to a next higher level.

Which are the 2 teams to win the IPL 2024 trophy?

Here are the 2 teams to win the IPL 2024 trophy and their chances enhanced after building a strong squad during the IPL 2024 auction:

1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK):

The Chennai Super Kings is one of the strongest teams to win the IPL 2024 trophy, with MS Dhoni set to make his comeback once again as the captain.

Compared to the previous year, the franchises has strengthened its squad by spending INR 30.40 crores from their purse. At the mini-auction held in Dubai, the Yellow Army acquired these 6 players ( overseas-3 and domestic-3) namely:

  • Daryl Mitchell (NEW ZEALAND): INR 14 crores
  • Rachin Ravindra (NEW ZEALAND): INR 1.8 crores
  • Shardul Thakur (INDIA): INR 4 crores
  • Mustafizur Rahman (BANGLADESH): INR 2 crores
  • Sameer Rizvi (INDIA): INR 8.40 crores
  • Avanish Rao Aravelly (INDIA): INR 20 lakhs

The addition of Daryll Mitchell and Rachin Ravindra will power the CSK’s batting line-up. Similarly, the inclusion of Mustafizur Rahman can strengthen the bowling unit with his experience in IPL and T20 cricket.

Mainly, CSK’s biggest strength is their depth in the batting lineup by having retained exceptional players like:

  • Devon Conway (NEW ZEALAND)
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad (INDIA)
  • Ajinkya Rahane (INDIA)
  • MS Dhoni (INDIA)

Additionally, the batting and bowling unit is intensified with the inclusion of all-rounders such as:

  • Shivam Dube (INDIA)
  • Moeen Ali (SOUTH AFRICA)
  • Ravindra Jadeja (INDIA)
  • Rachin Ravindra (NEW ZEALAND)

Overall, CSK aims to defend their title successfully for the 6th time under MS Dhoni’s captaincy. Probably, this might be Dhoni’s last IPL season as well. The CSK squad plans to gift MS Dhoni a grand farewell by becoming the most successful franchise in the Indian Premier League.

2. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH):

After experiencing a disastrous performance in the last three seasons, the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) team management acquired some premium quality players. Especially, Aiden Markram’s led side concluded as the table bottomers in IPL 2023 by winning only 4 out of 14 matches.

The franchise spent a whopping amount of INR 30.80 crore and included the players based on their exceptional performances in recent times such as:

  • Pat Cummins (AUSTRALIA): INR 20.50 crores
  • Travis Head (AUSTRALIA): INR 6.80 crores
  • Wanindu Hasaranga (SRI LANKA): INR 1.50 crores
  • Akash Singh (INDIA): INR 20 lakhs
  • Jhathavedh Subramanyan (INDIA): INR 20 lakhs
  • Jaydev Unadkat (INDIA): INR 1.60 crores

SRH grabbed Pat Cummins for INR 20.50 crores and he became the 2nd most expensive player in the IPL history. The Australian skipper has proved his leadership skills in recent times.

Particularly, the 2023 World Cup-winning captain demand increased, who could be a backup skipper. Also, there are chances for Pat Cummins to take over the full-time captaincy from Aiden Markram.

Pat Cummins as a pace bowler, handy batsman at the lower order, and brilliant leadership skills can guide Sunrisers Hyderabad to the winning title.

Furthermore, the squad looks completely balanced with a strong batting department which includes experienced players like:

  • Mayank Agarwal
  • Travis Head
  • Rahul Tripathi
  • Aiden Markram
  • Heinrich Klaasen

Moreover, the bowling unit consists of top-quality pacers like Umran Malik, along with experienced bowlers like Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Pat Cummins.

Spinners like Mayank Markande and Wanindu Hasaranga can also provide a tough time to the best in-form batsmen.

Interestingly, all-rounders like Marco Jansen and Washington Sundar can contribute effectively during batting, bowling, and fielding. Ultimately, SRH is among the top teams to win the IPL 2024 trophy. 

2 Teams to win the IPL 2024 Trophy: Overall Facts

The Sunrisers Hyderabad and Chennai Super Kings look dangerous after including the premium quality players in their squad.

Both SRH and CSK are the teams to win the IPL 2024 trophy having a strong batting and bowling lineup.

However, the Chennai Super Kings were more consistent in qualifying for the playoffs under MS Dhoni’s captaincy. Except in 2020 and 2022, the franchise has been successful in qualifying at least into the playoffs by making it through the finals 8 times.

On the other side, the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have qualified only 1 time into the finals by winning the trophy in 2016.

Conclusively, the outcome depends upon a team’s captain and the brilliant strategies executed to guide their players successfully.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *