Everything You Need To Know About Bangladesh Premier League

There are three professional cricket leagues in Bangladesh, the Bangladesh Premier League being one of them. The game is played under the Twenty20 professional format, which is the highest form of cricket. So, with 21,824 average attendance per season. Even the BPL is also the 16th most attended premier league among other sports leagues.

Bangladesh Cricket Board formed it in 2011 and the first season began in February 2012. As a result of the closure of the National Cricket League Twenty20 in 2009/10. Although, the BPL was created.

Bangladesh Cricket Board

Cricket in Bangladesh is governed by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). The Bangladesh government operates it. Since, June 2000. However, it has been a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Bangladesh Cricket Board regulates and develops the game in Bangladesh. And, selects the national team players. In the near future, BPL plans to expand to nine teams from its current seven franchises.


Bangladesh Premier League is one of the most attended and watched leagues in the world. Hence, the following countries belong to this group.

  • Bangladesh
  • Caribbean Islands
  • United States
  • Canada
  • India
  • Middle East and North Africa
  • South Korea
  • Japan
  • China
  • Southeast Asia
  • Sub-Saharan Africa
  • Pakistan
  • United Kingdom
  • Russia
  • Online


The BPL has seven franchises to represent different cities and divisions across the country. A nine-franchise league is planned by the league’s Governing Council in future seasons. We are planning to add the Barisal franchise and the Noakhali franchise.

Currently, BPL consists of seven teams: Chittagong Vikings, Comilla Victorians, Dhaka Dynamites, Khulna Titans, Rajshahi Kings, Rangpur Riders, and Sylhet Sixers.

Chittagong Vikings

A former franchise of the BPL, the Chittagong Vikings play under that league. So, as a result of a change in ownership. Moreover, their original name was Chittagong Kings. But, DBL Sports Limited owns them now.

Sylhet Royal is defeat by Chittagong Viking in 2013 by 194 run with a margin of 119 run. But, it win the 2015 match by just one run over Sylhet Super Stars as well.

Aside from that, they have a winning percentage of 41.67 percent, which puts them third among the leagues. But, the reason for this is that they have played 72 matches in which they have won 31 and lost 41. Moreover, there is approximately 22,000 seat in Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong. Although, where they play their home game.

Comilla Victorian

A successful franchise in the BPL is the Comilla Victorians. In 2015 and 2019, the team win two championship, despite found in 2015. Among others, they have the highest success rate of winning with 63.46%.

Nafisa Kamal owns the team and is the daughter of Bangladesh’s planning minister Mustafa Kamal. There is no home ground for the Comilla Victorian at the moment. In 2019, they won against Khulna Titans with a total of 237/5 to rank second overall.

Dhaka Dynamites

The Dhaka Dynamites was refer as the Dhaka Gladiators during the first few seasons of the Bangladesh Premier League. But, a change of ownership led to them being rebrand as Dhaka Dynamites. Also, the team won another championship under its current name in 2016. Currently, the team is own by BEXIMCO Group.

With a winning percentage of 60.75%, they are the second most successful team. But, due to their 79 matches, they have won 48 and lost 31. However, when it defeated Rangpur Riders in 2013. Even, they had the third highest total overall.

Khulna Titans

As the replacement team for Khulna Royal Bengals, the Khulna Titans is establish in BPL. The company is found by Gemcon Sports in 2016. But, the total they had against Rajshahi Kings in 2017 is the 5th highest overall (213/5).

Rajshahi Kings

A founding member of BPL, Rajshahi Kings was part of the original league. Ownership of the company is done by Mango Entertainment Limited. However, Six seasons have passed without them winning a BPL title. But, they win 47.62% of the time. Additionally, they won 30 matches and lost 33, resulting in a total of 63 matches played.

Rangpur Riders

It has only won one BPL championship in six seasons for Rangpur Riders. As well as the Riders of Hope, they consider the Hope Riders. Bashundhara Group owns this team, which was one of the first to play in the league. Most of their home games are play at Sher-e Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Their success rate of winning the championship is 53.85% on average. A total of 65 matches playing, 35 win and 30 lost. Against Chittagong Vikings in 2019, the Riders have the highest total with 239/4.

Sylhet Sixers

In 2017, the Sylhet Sixers made their debut as a professional cricket team. Sylhet Royals were previously referring as this team. Their suspension ended in 2016 and they returned in 2017. With a success rate of 40.35 percent, they also have the lowest success rate. During the 57 matches they play, 23 matches will won and 34 will lost.


A round-robin format is usable in the league season for the tournament. A playoff spot award to the top four teams in this regular season. There are two qualifying games and a single-elimination game. A BPL Championship game is play between the teams that win the qualifier games.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *