BPL 2023 Latest News: Match Report

BPL (Bangladesh Premier League) is a cricket league organized by the Bangladesh Cricket Board. The league aims to identify young cricket talents from Bangladesh. 

In January 2023, the 9th edition of the BPL kicked off its journey. In 2023, the league will last more than one month, from Jan 5 to Feb 16. The BPL 2023 will feature 7 teams playing 46 games against each other. The Rangpur Riders will return to the Bangladesh Premier League in 2023 after being absent for two seasons. 

This article will discuss BPL’s latest news 2023 and the latest BPL 2023 match highlights.

Comilla Victorians beat Dhaka Dominators by 33 runs

Comilla Victorians won the BPL 2023 for the third time in a row by 33 runs over Dhaka Dominators.  Nasir Hossain remained unbeaten on 66 runs from 45 balls for Dhaka. 

In spite of the decent batting display, the team fell short, with the innings ending at 151/4 in 20 overs. With 36 runs, Mohammad Mithun was the other Dhaka team leader in scoring for the inning. Tanvir Islam Islam’s 1/12 bowling average was the best for the Victorians.

Khushdil Shah and Mohammad Rizwan each scored half a century to help Comilla Victorians give Dhaka Dominators 185 runs to score. Following a slow start, both batsmen attacked the opposing bowling attack in the final five overs.

Khushdil reached the season’s quickest 50, which might make the difference between the two teams. Rizwan was still unbeaten after scoring 55 runs while Khushdil scored 64 runs. The 17th game of the Bangladesh Premier League 2023 will pit the Comilla Victorians against the Dhaka Dominators. Comilla Victorians have participated in 5 games, winning just 2 of them.

With 4 points, they are currently in fourth place. With only two points, the Dhaka Dominators are in last place in the BPL latest news 2023 points table. The Dhaka Dominators won the toss and chose to field.

Iftikhar Ahmed’s first T20 century propels Barishal to an overwhelming victory

In the current BPL 2023 season, Iftikhar Ahmed led Fortune Barishal to a huge total of 238-4 against Rangpur Riders with an unbeaten century off just 45 balls. The 32-year-old became the third Pakistani hitter to record a century in the 2023 BPL season. He smashed six fours and nine huge sixes during his smashing effort.

Azam Khan and Usman Khan, two Pakistani batters, have previously achieved undefeated centuries in the same BPL 2023 encounter between Chattogram Challengers and Khulna Tigers.

Iftikhar’s three consecutive sixes against speedster Haris Rauf in the 19th over of the innings were the highlight of his batting. Rauf took two wickets and gave up 42 runs in four overs.

Rangpur Riders kept dropping wickets frequently as they attempted to chase down Barishal’s enormous score. Saim Ayub, the Riders’ opening batsman, was out after making 18 runs off of 18 pitches; in contrast, Shoaib Malik, the team’s captain, could only manage 10 runs off of 9 pitches.

The riders were unable to cross the finish line despite Mohammad Nawaz’s cameo of 33 runs from 24 balls. The Riders suffered a 67-run defeat.

Remember that in 2012, when Ahmed Shehzad played for Barisal Burners in the inaugural Bangladesh Premier League. He became the first Pakistani player to make a century there (BPL).

BPL 2023: Shakib Al Hasan and Iftikhar Ahmed record highest-ever fifth wicket partnership in T20 cricket

In the 18th game of the BPL 2023, Fortune Barishal batters Shakib Al Hasan and Iftikhar Ahmed broke numerous records while batting against Rangpur Riders. In the sixth over of the first innings, captain Shakib and opener Iftikhar teamed up, and the two went berserk as Fortune Barishal won easily by 67 runs.

The greatest fifth wicket partnership in T20 cricket history, Shakib and Iftikhar’s unbroken 192-run stand for the fifth wicket. On January 19, when batting at Chattogram, they eclipsed the previous record of a 171-run partnership set by Adam Hose and Dan Mousley in 2020 during a Vitality Blast match.

Shakib eventually scored 89* off 43 deliveries, with nine fours and six sixes in his innings. Iftikhar, on the other hand, stood out as the star player. He scored an undefeated century off just 45 deliveries while hitting six fours and nine sixes.

BPL Latest News 2023: Wahab Riaz claims record in T20 cricket

In the BPL latest news 2023 of the BPL 2023, Pakistani pacer Wahab Riaz of the Khulna Tigers sets a record in T20 cricket. With the ball, Wahab Riaz displayed exceptional skill, claiming four quick wickets in his spell.

With this, Pakistani fast bowler Wahab Riaz surpasses Dwayne Bravo to become the second player to reach 400 wickets in T20 cricket. After Rashid Khan and Imran Tahir, the 37-year-old bowler from Pakistan is the third fastest to reach this milestone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *