A Prediction Of Who Will Win The ICC T20 World Cup In 2022

The 8th edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup kick starts on October 16, 2022, in Australia. There will be 16 teams competing for the biggest ICC tournament of the year. In addition, the top 8 ranked teams, including the defending champions Australia, have already qualified for the T20 World Cup 2022. 

Australia won the T20 World Cup 2021 after beating New Zealand in the finals. They won their maiden T20I World Cup after beating New Zealand by 8 wickets. Despite this, the Australian team did not start as favorites for the trophy.

The majority of experts and sportsbooks predicted India or England to win that World Cup. However, the Aaron Finch-led Australian team surprised everyone by winning the tournament.

Furthermore, the participating teams for the T20 World Cup 2022, Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka, and West Indies have progressed from the previous tournament. In addition, four more teams, Netherlands, Ireland, UAE, and Zimbabwe have made it to the T20 World Cup 2022 from the ICC T20 World Cup qualifier rounds.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Groups 

The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 consists of four groups- Group A, Group B, Group 1, and Group 2. Groups A and B have four teams each. In addition, Group 1 and Group 2 have six teams each. Further, let us look at the different groups and the qualification scenario for the teams placed in Group A and B.

Subsequently, the top two teams from Group A and Group B will enter the Super 12 stage. Here are the groups for Round 1 of the T20 World Cup 2022:

Group AGroup B
NetherlandsPapua New Guinea
Sri LankaScotland

Based on their ICC T20I team rankings, the Super 12 Group 1 and Group 2 teams have directly qualified for the T20 World Cup 2022. The teams are as follows:

Group 1Group 2
New ZealandSouth Africa
Group A WinnerGroup B winner
Runner-up Group BRunner-up Group A

Now, let us look at some of the teams that are considered favorites to win the T20 World Cup 2022.


Team India has been rated as one of the most favorites to win the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. However, they had a forgettable T20 World Cup in UAE last year. They lost their first two group stage matches against Pakistan and New Zealand respectively and were eliminated early.

India also had a horrible Asia Cup 2022 as well, where they failed to go past the Super 4 stage after losing consecutive matches against Pakistan and Sri Lanka. However, even with these losses, this new Indian team under Rohit Sharma has looked fierce in their approach. 

With stars like Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, and Jasprit Bumrah in their prime forms, they would look to seal the trophy this time around.

They indeed managed to win an important T20I bilateral series against the Number 1 T20I side England away from home, a few months back. But undoubtedly, they would need to work on their death bowling to succeed.


The defending champions and the host nation Australia too will start as the favorites for the tournament. Australia has been the most successful team in the world in terms of winning the ICC tournaments.

Moreover, they did not start as favorites in the previous edition of the T20 World Cup in UAE last year. But, the depth in their squad with players like David Warner, Glen Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, etc. along with a strong bowling line with the likes of Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins, and Mitchell Starc helped them overpower Pakistan in the semi-finals in a thrilling semifinal. 

Later, they beat New Zealand in the finals to clinch their maiden trophy. 


The Pakistani team had a memorable T2O World Cup 2021. Not many experts gave them a chance. But, the Babar Azam-led side showed great fighting spirit when they beat India by 10 wickets in their first match of the tournament. They went on to win every single game of the group stage before making it to the semifinals, where they eventually lost to Australia.

Consequently, the team failed to win the Asia Cup 2022 after losing shockingly to Sri Lanka. But with the players like Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam, and speedsters like Haris Rauf, and Shaheen Afridi, they would look to seal the T20 World Cup 2022 this time


The T20I Cricket format is based on uncertainties. It is because we might think that the above-featured teams could win the tournament. But, with so much upset happening recently, you never know who goes on to win the tournament. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *