3 Best T20 captains ever in the World: ICC T20 World Cup

The preparations for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 tournament are in full swing. Ahead of the grand contest, it would be intriguing to analyze the records of the best T20 captains ever in the world.

Mainly leadership is one such skill that lightens up the performance of every player in the team. 

Usually, while discussing great captains, only the legendary cricketers’ names like Kapil Dev, MS Dhoni, Steve Waugh, and Darren Sammy strike every cricket fan’s mind.

But, when practically discussed by considering the stats, it would be a question of who are the best T20 captains in the history of cricket. Who are the cricketers having a greater win percentage as a captain, despite playing few matches?

The Australians claimed its maiden T20 World Cup title in 2021 under Aaron Finch’s captaincy. But, Team India emerged as the defending champions in the inaugural edition of the ICC T20 World Cup in 2007 led by MS Dhoni.

Though Aaron Finch and MS Dhoni are considered successful T20 captains by playing more than 70 matches, few captains still maintain a higher success rate than these former legendary cricketers.

Furthermore, it would be interesting to delve into who are the best T20 captains and their possibilities of continuing captaincy in the T20 World Cup 2024.

Top 3 best T20 captains in the History of Cricket

Here is the list of the top 3 best T20 captains analyzed based on winning their percentage:

Asghar Afghan (2015- 2021): AFGHANISTAN

Former Afghanistan skipper Asghar Afghan earlier announced retirement from all formats of cricket after the T20 World Cup 2021.

He holds a winning percentage of 81% by winning 42 out of 52 games. It includes only 9 losses and 1 tied match. Under his captaincy, star players emerged such as Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Shahzad, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Though he isn’t a part of the present squad, his legacy as one of the best T20 captains motivates the present Afghan cricketers to approach with a different strategy for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024.

Babar Azam (2019-2023): PAKISTAN

Many times, Babar Azam saved the Pakistan cricket team from hot waters as a captain and batsman.

He maintained a success rate of 60% by winning 42 out of 71 games in T20Is, which includes 23 losses.

Despite Brian Masaba, the former Uganda skipper maintaining a higher success rate, still Babar is considered one of the greatest T20 leaders ever. Although he holds a winning percentage of 77.77%, Brian neither won against any competitive teams in T20Is nor qualified for the knockout stages of any ICC tournament.

Under his captaincy, Pakistan was the runner-up in T20 World Cup 2022 and Asia Cup 2022 tournaments. He led his team to the semi-finals of the 2021 T20 World Cup.

Also, Babar Azam as T20I captain scored the 2nd most number of runs in the shortest format. He accumulated 2,195 runs in 65 innings with the highest score of 122 runs.

He was one of the best T20 captains who found true gems like Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, and Mohammad Rizwan.

For instance, in the Asia Cup 2022 match against India, Babar promoted Mohammad Nawaz to the batting order. Ultimately, it became the turning point for Pakistan against their arch-rivals. He has the best capabilities as a leader to use a player’s talent to their extreme potential.

However, Babar Azam won’t be continuing as a captain for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024. Especially, after his team’s poor performance in the 2023 World Cup, he stepped down from captaincy across all formats upon receiving severe criticism.

Rohit Sharma (2017- Present): INDIA

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma equals the record of former captain MS Dhoni by winning 41 T20I matches. The Indian cricket team experienced only 12 losses and 1 tied game under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy.

Especially, after the T20 World Cup in 2021, Rohit Sharma became the full-time captain. Under his leadership, Team India was able to achieve these important milestones:

  • Winner of Asia Cup 2023
  • Runner-up of ICC World Cup 2023
  • Finalist of ICC World Test Championship 2023
  • Semi-finalist of ICC T20 World Cup 2022
  • Number 1 position in ICC Men’s T20I and ODI team rankings
  • Longest winning streak in a single edition of any World Cup tournament.

Recently, the BCCI secretary Jay Shah assured that Team India will win the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy. It becomes evident Rohit Sharma will continue as the T20I captain.

The upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 will prove why Rohit Sharma could rank easily at the top position. Compared to other best T20 captains, he is closer to achieving many remarkable records and creating sensation:

  • 2 matches away from securing the highest number of wins as T20I captain.
  • The contest between Virat Kohli ( 4,037 runs) and Rohit Sharma (3,974 runs) will determine the player with the most number of runs in T20Is.
  • Team India can win their 2nd T20 World Cup title after 17 years.
  • Possibility to become the second Team after West Indies to win the T20 World Cup 2024 twice.
  • Surpass the winning percentage of Afghanistan’s former skipper Asghar Afghan.
  • Become the most successful T20 captain ever in the history of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *